One Beat PR


Joseph returns with a seven-track EP, Stay Awake, which was released digitally on Friday by ATO Records. The collection includes three new songs – “All,” which opens the set, a demo of “50, 60, 80” and the closing track, “Stay Awake” – plus reimagined versions of two older songs and stunning covers of Tears For Fears’ “Everybody Wants To Rule The World” and theRolling Stones’ “Moonlight Mile.”

Natalie Schepman, who founded Joseph with her two sisters, Allison Closner and Meegan Closner, says, “Stay Awake is a small collection of songs we put together to help ourselves deal with heaviness. It’s a bit of telling it like it is. It’s a bit of a ‘keep going'”.

Produced by Mike Mogis (Bright Eyes, Jenny Lewis), I’m Alone, No You’re Not (ATO Records) spent two weeks at No. 1 on Billboard’s Heatseekers Albums chart and was voted as one of 2016’s top albums by NPR listeners. Cumulative streams for the album’s tracks now surpass 21 million on Spotify. Lead single “White Flag” topped Billboard’s Adult Alternative Songs chart and now has more than 11 million streams on Spotify. Streams for the Top 20 AAA hit “SOS (Overboard)” exceed four million.

PAPER praised Joseph’s “dark folk-pop that will make you cry (in the best, most cathartic way possible).” BUST observed, “Joseph has certainly arrived, and this is one sister act whose talent will stand the test of time.”